Desire for God’s Power

Desire to not settle for false things

My feelings have been that I am one of the few people around my age that wants to see God’s power displayed in miraculous ways. Not that I need to see them to confirm my faith but by faith see them performed. After my experience visiting a local church in Anchorage, AK I noticed a bunch of people around my age attending this church and then sat and heard the preacher speak…

Yelling and Passion

This preacher was not afraid to call out people from their high seats of theology, their fear from gifts of spirituality, throw tons of cherry picked verses that further convicts to his point or boast in his own faith producing works. The failure was his pride to call out a list of persons who do not believe that the gift of tongues is speaking in gibberish like prayer language…. this list fit me in every way which prompted me to walk out of during service after he called me out those for not having faith that some gibberish could honor the Lord.


Now when this was noised abroad, the multitude came together, and were confounded, because that every man heard them speak in his own language. -Acts2:6

The preacher doesn’t know me or my story and I can’t blame him being a two week attender. This is what broke my heart about this session the most…

I believed in all that once

In 2007 as a new believer in Church and a new pastor almost like this one I just experienced. Calling for all the congregation to be able to speak in tongues, and desire it above the others. Strangely the congregation I grew up with for a year adopted gibberish yelling in prayer service.  The prayer language then found its way into the regular service times. It was difficult for me and for the first time…

I felt fake in my faith

Tried hard… Prayed harder… and ultimately ended up faking it so that I could fit in the prayer groups that now spoke in ‘tongues’ eventually I couldn’t keep up with the new elitism that was born in this church. I deeply desired to learn more about God but didn’t know if what was happening was right. I had no clue the other dark remarks the pastor was planting in the warriors of faith I looked to. One friend was divorced by a wife who was told by pastor he was diseased. A pregnant mother told her child would be born deformed if they didn’t tithe more. This is not to say this Pastor in AK is doing this but… what scares me again….I believed in this but also…

Many desires to see God’s power but don’t know what they are looking for…

So they have to settle and hope they fell into a healthy congregation… or settle and find they become mired in false doctrine.


“Now the Berean Jews were of more noble character than those in Thessalonica, for they received the message with great eagerness and examined the Scriptures every day to see if what Paul said was true.” -Acts17:11

The power of God and the Word of God will always be reconciled to another. The study of scripture is needed mightily to know when there is an abuse of power and of scripture. I know my generation is hurting to see God power manifested, but never hope they settle for a gimmicky power and sly tongues.

Leave a Reply

